Ajouter à la liste de souhaits

Le circuit des amateurs de VR

Intro

Eastern Shore

La Côte Est s’étire de l’extrémité de la ville d’Halifax à Canso. En la parcourant, on a l’impression que ses plages sont infinies. On y pratique le surf, le kayak, la randonnée, l’observation des oiseaux marins et ce ne sont là que quelques activités qui en font un site idéal pour le plein air. Et, amateur de plein air ou pas, il est toujours agréable de s’étendre sur une de ses plages au soleil.

1

Le sentier Salt Marsh

Le sentier Salt Marsh, situé sur un ancien chemin de fer, fait partie du grand sentier Transcanadien. Faites une randonnée à pied ou à vélo tout en admirant les merveilleux paysages sauvages. Tout au long du parcours, des panneaux d’interprétation agrémentent vos découvertes. Le sentier s’étend sur plus de 13 kilomètres. halifaxtrails.ca © 2013

En savoir plus

2

Le Parc provincial de Lawrencetown Beach

Halifax Metro

Le parc provincial de Lawrencetown Beach est le lieu de prédilection pour le surf en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les experts y côtoient les débutants et les curieux. Venez en famille, louez une planche de surf et laissez-vous submerger par une vague de plaisir.

Learn More

3

Le Dude's Food

Halifax Metro

Roulez sur quelques kilomètres en sortant de Lawrencetown Beach et vous découvrirez un autobus scolaire d’époque, peint de couleur vive. C’est le restaurant Dude’s Food. On y sert le fameux Dudewich, un sandwich consistant et savoureux sur pain hamburger, fait avec un filet d’aiglefin frit, recouvert de fromage, tomates, laitue et sauce tartare. Un délice !

4

De l’espoir pour la vie sauvage

Ce centre de sauvegarde de la nature sauvage peut poursuivre sa vocation grâce à de généreuses contributions, des dons et l’aide de bénévoles dévoués. Plus de 2 500 espèces d’animaux sauvages sont recueillis ici annuellement, soignés et la plupart d’entre eux sont relâchés dans la nature. Durant l’été, le centre est fermé le dimanche.

En savoir plus

5

Le Parc provincial de Porter’s Lake

Vous serez envoutés par le son du huart et celui du feu de camp qui crépite lors de votre séjour au parc provincial de Porter’s Lake. Ce site, situé sur le bord du lac, vous permet de décrocher tout en vous imprégnant de la nature environnante.

En savoir plus

6

Le musée ferroviaire de Musquodoboit

Retournez à l’époque du chemin de fer de 1918, alors qu’il existait une gare du Canadien National dans le beau port de Musquodoboit. En regardant les photos, les billets de train, les affiches et les objets anciens, vous en apprendrez davantage sur l’histoire ferroviaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse. À la boutique de cadeaux, vous pourrez acheter des souvenirs, question d’apporter un peu de notre histoire avec vous.

En savoir plus

7

Le Parc provincial de Martinique Beach

Étendez-vous sur la plage de sable blanc de cinq kilomètres de long, au parc provincial de Martinique Beach. C’est la plus grande plage de la province et le paradis des baigneurs, des amateurs de surf et de kayak. Baladez-vous sur les berges ou sur le boardwalk. Et, si vous êtes ornithologues amateurs vous serez ravis d’observer les pluviers siffleurs et les autres espèces d’oiseaux aquatiques migrateurs de ce refuge faunique protégé.

En savoir plus

8

La Gallerie Black Sheep

La galerie Black Sheep est située dans une ancienne usine à poissons dans le port de Jeddore. On y présente le travail de plus de quarante artistes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dont certaines célébrités comme Maud Lewis et Barry Colpitts.

En savoir plus

9

Le Parc E & F Webber Lakeside

Profitez de la beauté de ce site sur la plage, en pédalo ou en canot. Nagez, pêchez, faites du vélo dans les environs, ou jouez au badminton si vous préférez. Ici, tout le monde y trouve son compte et y refait le plein d’énergie avant de repartir.

En savoir plus

10

Le Fisherman’s Life Museum

Plongez dans l’héritage de pêche de notre province en visitant cette demeure de pêcheurs typique des années 1900. Apprenez comment crocheter un tapis, cuisiner à la façon des ancêtres et laissez-vous charmer par les histoires que racontent ceux qui ont vécu de la mer toute leur vie.

En savoir plus

11

Le Parc provincial de Clam Harbour Beach

Flânez sur cette plage magnifique et laissez les vagues chaudes chatouiller vos orteils. Le long de la côte, vous trouverez des sentiers de randonnée, des trottoirs en bois et des panneaux d’interprétation. Et arrêtez-vous pour admirer les superbes sculptures de sable dans le cadre du concours de châteaux de sable qui a lieu ici, depuis plus de 40 ans.

En savoir plus

12

Le Camping Murphy on the Ocean

Ce camping sur le bord de la mer vous permet de vivre une expérience culinaire exceptionnelle. On y fait cuire à tous les soirs au crépuscule, des moules fraîches et des mollusques provenant de plusieurs élevages de moules de la région.

Learn More

13

Une excursion en bateau dans l’anse Murphy

Montez à bord du Ryan, un bateau en bois de type Cape Island qui offre des croisières au crépuscule, des contes et légendes et des voyages de pêche et de cueillette de moules. Vous pourrez voir des paysages fantastiques et observer des phoques, des balbuzards et des aigles.

En savoir plus

14

Coastal Adventures

Que vous soyez débutants ou experts en kayak, tout le monde y trouve son compte à Coastal Adventures. Vous pourrez y faire du kayak de mer le long de la côte Est et des expéditions plus poussées jusqu’aux Hautes Terres de l’île du Cap-Breton, la Baie de Fundy et la côte de Louisbourg. Des expéditions familiales sont aussi organisées. L’équipement est disponible en location.

En savoir plus

15

Le fumoir à poisson J. Willy Krauch Danish

Cette entreprise familiale, qui existe depuis 1956, produit du poisson fumé à la perfection à la façon traditionnelle. Elle est située dans le petit village pittoresque de Tangier et est particulièrement réputée pour son fameux et délicieux saumon fumé.

16

Le Spry Bay Campground & Cabins

Le camping est proche de plusieurs attractions touristiques et parcs de la Côte Est, ce qui en fait un lieu idéal pour explorer la région. La nuit venue, vous pouvez admirer les étoiles tout en profitant de la compagnie des autres voyageurs autour d’un bon feu de camp.

En savoir plus

17

Taylor Head Provincial Park

Le parc provincial Taylor Head vous donne accès à plusieurs sentiers pédestres, reliés les uns aux autres, à des rochers et à des points d’eau pour naviguer. La nature sauvage y est abondante et des belvédères ont été aménagés le long des 16 kilomètres de côtes inexploitées pour admirer le paysage. Quand la randonnée est terminée, baignez-vous ou reposez-vous sur la plage.

En savoir plus

18

Le Liscombe Lodge Resort & Conference Centre

Le Liscombe Lodge Resort est niché sur la rive paisible de la Liscomb River, le long de la Côte Est. Vous pouvez décompresser et profiter de la beauté naturelle des lieux ou participer aux multiples activités récréatives de l’hôtel. À la fin de la journée, vous pouvez déguster un délicieux repas préparé avec des ingrédients locaux par notre chef réputé.

En savoir plus

19

Le village de Sherbrooke

L’histoire s’incarne ici à travers le plus important musée d’histoire vivante en Nouvelle-Écosse. Regardez jaillir les étincelles quand le forgeron abat son marteau sur l’enclume, essayez de suivre les mains du tisserand sur son métier, et écoutez le son sourd de la vieille presse. Sortez ensuite et montez dans une calèche tirée par des chevaux. Le cocher vous amènera voir les dindes, paons, vaches et moutons.

En savoir plus

20

La camping St. Mary’s Riverside

Situé sur les berges de la fameuse rivière à saumon et à quelques minutes de marche de la scierie, le camping St.Mary Riverside est parfait pour les familles. Saucez-vous dans la piscine limpide, prenez vos repas sur nos tables à pique-nique ou relaxez-vous pendant que les enfants sont dans l’aire de jeux. Le soir, vous pouvez vous réchauffer au bord du feu et admirer le superbe coucher de soleil sur la rivière. Et le matin, vous risquez de vousfaire réveiller par le huart.

En savoir plus

21

Le parc provincial de Tor Bay

Au parc provincial de TorBay, vous trouverez de grandes plages de sable, des trottoirs de bois et des panneaux d’interprétation. Ses paysages intouchés sont absolument fabuleux. Les férus d’histoire seront ravis de savoir que c’est sur ce site que fut installé le premier câble Transatlantique en provenance d’Europe.

Learn More

22

Le musée Old Court House

Le musée The Old Court House est situé dans la ville historique de Guysborough au début de la baie de Chedabucto. Le musée a été préservé et restauré pour donner un aperçu de la vie telle qu’elle était en Nouvelle-Écosse, au 18e siècle.

En savoir plus

23

Le Rare Bird Pub & Eatery

Le musée The Old Court House est situé dans la ville historique de Guysborough au début de la baie de Chedabucto. Le musée a été préservé et restauré pour donner un aperçu de la vie telle qu’elle était en Nouvelle-Écosse, au 18e siècle.

En savoir plus

Add To Wish List

RV Road Trip


RV Road Trip

Eastern Shore

From the edges of Halifax to the Canso Causeway at the entrance to Cape Breton Island, the Eastern Shore boasts pristine, rugged coastlines and glorious beaches - the ideal setting for outdoor adventure. Outdoor enthusiasts will make the Eastern Shore their playground with surfing, kayaking, birding, hiking, and even sunbathing.


Salt Marsh Trail

Hike the Salt Marsh Trail, part of the Trans-Canada Trail system, along a former railbed. An ideal route for cyclists as the terrain is level and safe, travellers can take in gorgeous views, interpretive signage, and abundant wildlife. The trail spans over 13 kilometres. © 2013

Learn More


Lawrencetown Beach Provincial Park

Halifax Metro

Lawrencetown Beach Provincial Park is a mecca for surfing on the Eastern Shore. Surfers gather here along with family members to enjoy a day at the beach. Book a lesson with Kannon Beach Wind and Surf, located near Lawrencetown Beach, or to rent a surf board and a wet suit to join in on the fun.

Learn More


Dude's Food

Halifax Metro

Travel up the road a few kilometres from Lawrencetown Beach and you’ll find a brightly-painted old school bus. Welcome to Dude’s Food: try a Dudewich, a burger bun crammed with freshly-fried haddock and topped with cheese, tomato, lettuce, and tartar sauce.


Hope for Wildlife

Grants, donations, and the help of volunteers help this wildlife rescue centre run. Up to 2,500 wild animals a year are taken care of here, most of which are rehabilitated for re-entry into the wild. During the summer, the centre closes on Sundays.

Learn More


Porter's Lake Provincial Park

Listen for the plaintive call of the loon, or the crackling campfires as you camp at Porter’s Lake Provincial Park. Overlooking scenic Porter’s Lake, here you can rediscover nature as you get away from it all.

Learn more


Musquodoboit Railway Museum

Ride the rails back to 1918, when the Canadian National Railway Station stood in this very spot in Musquodoboit Harbour. Learn the story of Nova Scotia’s railway through photographs, tickets, posters and artifacts. For the serious railway buff, take a peek in the library or peruse the gift shop for souvenirs.

Learn More


Martinique Beach Provincial Park

Lounge on the five-kilometre stretch of white sand beach that makes up Martinique Beach Provincial Park. As the longest sand beach in the province, this is a haven for sunbathers, surfers and kayakers alike. Stroll along the water beachcombing or take a walk along the boardwalk. Spot the piping plover, as well as other migratory waterfowl in this protected wildlife refuge.

Learn More


Black Sheep Gallery

Located in a converted fish plant on Jeddore Harbour, Black Sheep Gallery showcases the work of more than 40 Nova Scotia folk artists. Such luminaries as Maud Lewis, Barry Colpitts, and Arthur Villeneuve are represented.

Learn More


E & F Webber Lakeside Park

Enjoy the beauty of Lake Charlotte at E & F Webber Lakeside Park. Pitch your tent then relax on the beach, go for a swim, enjoy some fishing, or venture out in a paddle boat or canoe. You can also bike the surrounding area or engage in a game of badminton.

Learn More


Fisherman's Life Museum

Visit this charming homestead, typical for an inshore fisherman and his family in the early 1900s. Learn how to hook rugs, see how the family cooked meals on a wood stove, and hear stories about the land, sea, and the life people led on the Eastern Shore in the early decades of the twentieth century.

Learn More


Clam Harbour Beach Provincial Park

Stroll this wide, natural sand beach and feel the warm water lapping at your toes. Walk the coastal hiking trail, boardwalks, and take in an interpretive display along the way. Visit during the annual Clam Harbour sand castle contest, which has been running for over 40 years, and you will see some spectacular sand sculptures.

Learn More


Murphy's Camping on the Ocean

Located just off the ocean, this campground offers a unique interactive experience. The surrounding area is known for its mussel farms, and you can purchase mussels at the campground or enjoy a free mussel boil each night at dusk! Take the kids to try catching crabs by baiting small traps and waiting for the crabs to crawl in.

Learn More


Murphy's Scenic Boat Tours

Hop aboard the Ryan, a Cape Island-style wooden boat offering sightseeing, storytelling, and sunset cruises, as well as fishing and mussel tours. You will not only view gorgeous scenery, but also diverse wildlife such as seals, osprey, and eagles.

Learn More


Coastal Adventures

The best way to see this rugged coast is from the water, and located in the sheltered Tangier Harbour is Coastal Adventures. Their experienced guides love to show kayakers the islands the and white sand inlets of the Bay of Islands, a largely undisturbed coastal wilderness area. Tours and rentals are available for kayakers of all skill levels.

Learn More


J. Willy Krauch Danish Smokehouse

Since 1956, this family-run smokehouse has followed the time-honoured tradition of working by hand to produce perfectly smoked fish. Located in the picturesque village of Tangier, the J. Willy Krauch Danish Smokehouse is famous for its delicious smoked salmon, which can’t be missed.


Spry Bay Campground & Cabins

Conveniently located close to many Eastern Shore attractions and parks, Spry Bay Campgrounds & Cabins is an ideal getaway from the hustle and bustle of your daily routine. On a clear night, you can gaze at the stars, or enjoy a bonfire with the company of good friends.

Learn More


Taylor Head Provincial Park

Taylor Head Provincial Park’s interconnecting, looped hiking trails are challenging with many roots, stones, and marshy spots to navigate. These trails provide access to scenic look-offs and 16 kilometres (10 miles) of unspoiled coastline. If you’re up to the challenge, you will be rewarded with beautiful scenery along the trail. When you finish your hike, cool down with a swim at the beach.

Learn More


Liscombe Lodge Resort & Conference Centre

Liscombe Lodge Resort, tucked away on the tranquil shores of the Liscomb River along the Eastern Shore, provides guests with a relaxing atmosphere to unwind in and to enjoy nature at its finest along with the Resort’s many recreational activities. Enjoy a variety of activities, hearty meals, and warm hospitality in a relaxed setting.

Learn More


Sherbrooke Village

Be present in the past as you explore Nova Scotia’s largest living history museum, where costumed interpreters bring history to life. Watch sparks fly as the blacksmith’s hammer hits the anvil, see the weaver’s hands at the loom, and hear the thump of the printer’s press. Hitch a ride in the horse-drawn wagon to visit all the animals on site, like turkeys, peacocks, cows, and sheep.

Learn More


St. Mary's Riverside Campground

Located on the banks of the legendary salmon river and only a minute’s walk away from the sawmill, St. Mary’s Riverside Campground offers many amenities for the travelling family. Take a dip in the sparkling pool, enjoy lunch at the picnic tables, or relax while the children spend time in the play area. In the evening you can relax by an open fire and watch the beautiful sunsets across the river, and in the morning wake up to the call of the loon.

Learn More


Tor Bay Provincial Park

Tor Bay Provincial Park is a small, picturesque picnic area on a rocky point, looking out to the open Atlantic. Sweeping sand beaches, boardwalks, and interpretive displays make this an interesting spot to stop while travelling along the Eastern Shore. It is also the site where the first Trans-Atlantic cable from Europe to mainland North America came to shore.

Learn More


Old Court House Musuem

The Old Court House Museum is located in one of the most scenic areas in Nova Scotia, in the historic shiretown of Guysborough at the head of beautiful Chedabucto Bay. The Museum has been preserved and restored by the Guysborough Historical Society and it retains the integrity of the original purpose of the public building. Since 1976, the Society has used the building to promote a better understanding of our cultural heritage and as an information centre for visitors to Guysborough County.

Learn More


Rare Bird Pub & Eatery

Located above the marina on beautiful Guysborough Harbour, the Rare Bird Pub & Eatery features homemade pub fare and desserts, Maritime classics, and handcrafted ales brewed on-site in the Chedabucto Bay Brewing Company. Open seasonally.

Learn More