A 2 1/2-storey Dutch Colonial mansion with gambrel roof, hand-hewn beams, and wishbone chimneys, built c 1770 by one of Halifax’s first settlers. This unique house offers permanent and weekly exhibits, Bedford family histories, reading room featuring local history and archaeology, photo collection (20,000 in database), special summer events. Wheelchair-accessible on ground floor.
Facilities / Services
- Wheelchair accessible
- Internet access
Date details/Hours of operation
10am–4pm daily, or by appointment; tea room 2–4pm.
Details: Admission free, donations welcome.