We are North America’s only living history museum for Gaelic language and culture. Our breath-taking 43-acre site features one of the most unbelievable views of the Barramens Strait, eleven historic buildings, including three frame houses (c1830-1900), a store, a carding mill, a church and a forge.
Take part in a traditional céilidh, hear Gaelic singing, learn to speak Gaelic phrases, and become captivated by the spirit of the pioneering Scottish Gaels. Gaze in wonder as costumed animators demonstrate traditional skills such as weaving, quilting and rug hooking. Explore the beautiful rural setting that features a Hebridean style blackhouse, a 19th-century wooden church, period farmhouses, and rare farm animals such as Soay sheep and Highland cattle.
We are open from June to mid-October. An admission fee is charged. Parking on site. Bus Tours are welcome. Visit the village’s gift shop for a wide selection of souvenirs, unique gifts and Celtic music, or consult the site’s genealogical service, Roots Cape Breton.
Facilities / Services
- Bus tours
- Gift shop
- Picnic tables
- Limited accessibility
- Internet access
Date details/Hours of operation
10:00am–5:00pm daily; O/S (Visitor Centre only) Mon–Fri 9am–5pm.
Details: Admission charged; F(5); senior, student & group rates.